Engineer's Thumb - distortion problems RESOLVED

• Hi everyone,

I recently started making some of the kits from Musikding and until now had some pretty good success. I'm still learning but I've had some trouble with my latest project and am looking for any insight as to what might be going wrong. Yesterday I built the Engineer's Thumb and it seems to be working properly except for a strange distortion or fizzing sound when the compressor is active. At first I was wondering if maybe I had put the LEDs in backwards, but I don't think that's the issue.

Here's a sound sample for the moment, and I'll post photos shortly.

Compressor Problems
    Listen to Compressor Problems by East Coast Disaster Complex #np on #SoundCloud
    soundcloud.app.goo.gl

The E major chord is with the effect off, when I play the E minor the compressor is on and you can hear the chord sustaining and that is when you can hear the distortion. The effect also 'pops' a little bit more than I'd like, but maybe that's normal. My main issue is the distortion/fizzing sound you hear as the chord rings out.

Thanks for any advice!

C

2 Mal editiert, zuletzt von Christiaan27 (10. September 2022 um 20:07)

• Hi Christian,

welcome to the forum. To give you any useful advice, a link to the building documentation would be helpful. And detailed pictures of your build including the solder joints, switches, jacks etc. The next step would be measurements, DC voltages to ground from all pins of the ICs and transistors.

Imagine being asked a question like that:
    "Hey Chris, a car is not working correctly...I guess, but maybe that's normal. Please tell me what's wrong."

Could you be of any help in this scenario? I don't think so - because you needed more details, right? Same here. :S

But don't worry, we will help you and get your thumb running!

Cheers, Max :saint:

"Perfektion ist nicht dann erreicht, wenn es nichts mehr hinzuzufügen gibt, sondern wenn man nichts mehr weglassen kann."